The building of the Shard…

It’s been a while since my last post… From mid-February until the first weekend in June things were taken over by studying for the CFA while working, and I barely got my camera out at all for a good couple of months. Happily, the exam is now done and I can do something else than work and study!

I’ve been thinking for a while about how to get a good shot of the Shard while it’s being built, but it seemed like I was always either too far or too close to it. Since it’s in the middle of a fairly crowded area as it is, and other building work going on to increase the capacity at London Bridge rail station, it always seemed too cluttered.

So when I took the Thames Clipper instead of my usual bus/tube commute on a sunny evening, I was pleasantly surprised when I spotted a few angles at which I could get a shot of the building in a light and at an angle I found interesting.

This is a HDR shot of five exposures at + or – 1EV steps, stitched together in Aperture with the Photomatix plugin. I chose a HDR shot because of the angle of the sun and the contrast between the sky and the shadow side of the building itself as well as the foreground.

And I thought this one worked out decently well in the end.

~ by mjiphotography on 26 June 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
