Cathedral at night



Cathedral at night, originally uploaded by Mika_I.

So, here we are again, mucking around with OmmWriter…

Well, I recently went through some old shots I’ve taken with one of my previous cameras. I should say that one of my favourite pasttimes is just going around for a walk in some part of London with my camera in hand. Usually I don’t have a fixed aim to shoot anything in particular, but see what inspires me and what I see.

On this occasion, I was walking around the river Thames near Borough Market, after sunset and with some residual blue glow of golden hour still remaining. I can’t remember that it would have been cold, but I remember walking around Southwark Cathedral, looking at the impressive building at different angles, inspecting the way the lights fell on the building.

As a structure, it is incredibly well decorated (by which I mean the stonework is tryly great), and has a magnificent gothic feel to it at night time – the arches and the shadows they cast see to that.

In this shot, I was attempting to capture the elongated shape of the building, and some of the shadows that were thrown on its sides. And as I’m writing this, I’m thinking I should try a black and white conversion…

Technical details:
Olympus E-520
Zuiko Digital 12-60mm f/2.8-4 SWD
Focal lenght: 12mm
Exposure: 1/13, f/2.8 and ISO 400

~ by mjiphotography on 10 February 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
