Sunset over South Dock Marina

Sunset over South Dock Marina, originally uploaded by Mika_I.

Every now and then I like to walk around the River Thames and the docks around the Surrey Quays area. Living near Greenland Dock obviously makes this rather easier, which is a definite bonus attached to the area. I took this particular shot while taking a walk this weekend, for once deciding to walk southwards. It was getting towards the end of the walk, with the sun setting across the marina with a wonderful sky. At first I was shooting the sky directly, but as I gazed across the water and the boats in the marina, the reflections on the water struck me as far more interesting. The colours, the waves and the silhouettes somehow blended into a rather hypnotic mix, which I tried to capture here.

I’ve always lived close to the water – I grew up on the west coast of Finland and have always loved the sights, sounds and smells of the open sea. And while living in the UK, most of the time I’ve lived close to a river. The Thames may not quite be the sea, but occasionally with a breeze blowing from the east you can just about get that salty scent of the North Sea. There’s just something about water that captures my imagination. Always has been, and probably always will.

Technical details:
Olympus E-1 with HLD-2 grip
Zuiko Digital 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 SWD
Focal length: 50mm
Exposure: 1/50, f/2.8, ISO 100

~ by mjiphotography on 2 February 2011.

One Response to “Sunset over South Dock Marina”

  1. Heya! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new apple iphone!
    Just waznted to say I love reading your blog and look forward tto all
    your posts! Keeep up the superb work!

Leave a Reply

 
